Skip to main content

Previous years winners


Winners of the CACS Awards 1994 to 2004 and the Manning Clark House National Cultural Awards since 2006.

1994 – The Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia ed. David Horton

1995 – ‘Australia Remembers, 1945-95’ Project

1996 – Two categories

                Robyn Williams (individual category)

                Freemantle Arts Centre Press (group category)


                Roland Manderson (individual category)

                Bringing Them Home: The ‘Stolen Children’ Report (group category)


               Tania De Jong: Performing arts through Music Theatre Australia  (individual category)

              Australia Biography Series 6 – Film Australia (group category)


              K.S. Inglis Sacred Place: War Memorials in the Australian Landscape (individual category)

               Company B Belvoir’s Cloudstreet  tour (group category)


              Peter Carey, True History of the Kelly Gang (UQP) (individual category)

              The World Upside Down, Australia 1788-1830, National Library of Australia (group category)


              Peter Mares, Borderline: Australia’s Treatment of Refugees and Asylum Seekers (UNSW Press) (individual category)

              National Museum of Australia (group category)


              Mark McKenna, Looking for Blackfellas’ Point: an Australian History of Place (UNSW Press) (individual category)

              Treasures from the World’s Greatest Libraries, National Library of Australia (group category)


              John Doyle – Roy and HG/Marking Time (individual category)

               Australia’s Silent Cinema – Video Series, ScreenSound Australia (National Film and Sound Archive (group category)


               Hugh Mackay: Right or Wrong – How to Decide for Yourself (individual category)

               Kath and Kim (ABC Television) – Gina Riley and Jane Turner (group category)


2005 – No Award


                 Kate Crawford, Adult Themes: Rewriting the Rules of Adulthood (individual category)

                 The Australian Dictionary of Biography On Line (group category)


                  Alex Miller, Landscape of Farewell (Allen and Unwin) (individual category)

                 The National Museum of Australia and Curator Margo Neale for Utopia: The Genius of Emily Kame           Kgnwarreye, curated by Margo Neale


                 Peter Sutton, The Politics of Suffering: Indigenous Australia and the End of the Liberal Consensus (MUP) (individual      category)

                 National Portrait Gallery Canberra, for the opening of their new venue, an expanded program and initial exhibitions (group Award)